Subscribe to newsletter

Custom Search 1

You are here

YWCA former presidents honored


The Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA) Lebanon, marked the International Women’s Day on March 8 with a “Greetings to the YWCA former presidents in Lebanon’ ceremony. The honored presidents in chronological order from 1962 are: Leila Dacruz, Marcel Aoun Khoury, Aida Fares, Souad Katoul, Souad Shehadeh, Maha Nasr Haddad, Amal Shbeir, Nadera Najm. YWCA also honored the heads of association branches and they are: Ibtisam Abu Hanna (Ablah branch), Edi Lamaa (Shiyah), Arlette Medlej (Hadath), Amal Shami (Tripoli), Gitta Jermanus (Byblos Jbeil) and Majida Khoury (Marjey3oon). On the occasion, president Rula Khoury greeted women on their day, pointing out that the honorees have contributed to improving their communities through constructive initiatives to this end, in line with the YWCA’s motto ‘Serve each other’. They volunteered and devoted time and energy and they are carrying on, she said. Khoury noted that globally, women have struggled to seize a place in society and arrived to where they are today. Lebanese women, on the other hand, are still toiling, Khoury maintained, commending the development achieved with the appointment of four women ministers in the new cabinet. (An Nahar, March 13, 2019)

Share on


No upcoming events

Job vacancies

Sunday, May 15, 2016
Justice Without Frontiers
Friday, October 9, 2015
Collective for Research and Training on Development - Action (CRTD.A)
Monday, August 31, 2015
KAFA (enough) Violence & Exploitation