Subscribe to newsletter

Custom Search 1

You are here

Four women appointed members of Qatari Shura Council


The Prince of Qatar, Sheikh Tamim Bin Hamad Al Thani issued yesterday an emiri decree renewing the membership of a number of Shura Council members (Parliament) and appointing 28 new members including 4 women for the first time in the history of the country. The women appointed are, Hessa Jaber, previously communications and IT minister, Aisha Mana’I, director of the Muhammad Bin Hamad Al Thani Center for Muslim Contribution to Civilization affiliated with Hamad Bin Khalifa University, member of Qatar Foundation for Education, Science and Community Development, Hind Muftah, Vice President of Administration and Finance at the Doha Institute, and Reem Mansouri, Assistant Undersecretary for the Digital Society Development Sector. To note, the Shura Council is Qatar’s legislative body and consultative assembly, with 45 members. Some of its tasks include, drafting and discussing proposed legislation, decrees, the general state policy across economic, political and administrative areas referred to it from the Council of Ministers and discussing the draft budget of the main public projects. )AL Mustaqbal, November 10,2017(

Share on


No upcoming events

Job vacancies

Sunday, May 15, 2016
Justice Without Frontiers
Friday, October 9, 2015
Collective for Research and Training on Development - Action (CRTD.A)
Monday, August 31, 2015
KAFA (enough) Violence & Exploitation

Most read news